Ask Me Now - Anthony Braxton - Six Monks Compositions (1987) (Vinyl, LP, Album)

The other five compositions here are treated in a similar fashion, in that they are radically reinterpreted, played and executed with a degree of musicianship seldom found on any tribute. Braxton's intent was to get at the knotty -- even nutty -- harmonic and rhythmic idiosyncrasies that make Monk's music connect so deeply and widely yet remain difficult to interpret correctly. If all you get is a listen to "Four in One" or "Skippy," just listen to how completely each of these musicians reinvents himself to approach the material.

On alternating tunes, Braxton and Waldron provide the catalyst, but all four become changelings in light of this intense and addictive harmonic conception. Creative Orchestra Music Moers Music. Donaueschingen Duo Harmonia Mundi. Quartet Dortmund Duets Solo: Live at Moers Festival. Anthony Braxton Live. Four Compositions Denon Jazz. The Complete Braxton. Creative Orchestra Koln Hat Hut Records. For Four Orchestras. Black Saint. NWM4: For Trio. Performance With Robert Schumann String Quartet.

Seven Compositions Alto Saxophone Improvisations For Two Pianos. The Coventry Concert. Composition No. Open Aspects Duo Six Duets Four Compositions Quartet Prag Quartet London Quartet Quartet London Seven Standards , Vol. Six Compositions Quartet Five Compositions Quartet , Anthony Braxton: 19 Solo Compositions. New Albion. Victoriaville A Memory of Vienna. London Solo Six Monk's Compositions Voigt Kol Nidre.

Zurich Concerts. Intakt Records. The Aggregate. Eugene Seven Compositions Trio Lower action. Lubricate nut and bridge saddles Tune down. That was the first jazz record I ever bought, along with Mingus Ah Hum. I wanted to get the original Goodbye Porkpie Hat record, but the record shop also had the Mingus Dynasty album, so I took the By the way Jake Reichbart plays an Ibanez, looks like an AG.

Guitars with high action usually feel stiff to me. Probably that's because the string has to be stretched so much to fret it. Lower action feels much looser because the string only has to be Generally the AKs were No, me neither, I only turned it up to see if the noise would increase with the increase in volume. I never played at more than My amp is seldom above 12, and actually seldom that high.

Louder than that hurts my ears. I have never turned it up to the last quarter turn, not even in environments that were so loud that I had No, that's not it. The noise is always there and it's loud even in volume 2, but there is only an increase in the volume of the noise even more in the last quarter of the volume knob. I do all Although I like the local shop and separate independent luthier that I use to do my setups and repairs, this rabbit hole seems like a lot of trial, error, and personal preference to get right.

The problem is only in the last quarter turn before the volume control is maxed out? Well, now I know why I haven't heard it. I never turn it up that high. I go up to maybe 2 o'clock on the dial Search Titles Only. Playing Thelonious Monk Tunes. Thread Tools. Join Date Dec Posts 2, Sunday 31 May Monday 1 June Tuesday 2 June Thursday 4 June Friday 5 June Saturday 6 June Sunday 7 June Monday 8 June Tuesday 9 June Monday 15 June Tuesday 16 June Wednesday 17 June Friday 19 June Saturday 20 June Sunday 21 June Monday 22 June Tuesday 23 June Wednesday 24 June Thursday 25 June Friday 26 June Saturday 27 June Sunday 28 June Monday 29 June Tuesday 30 June Wednesday 1 July Thursday 2 July Friday 3 July Saturday 4 July Sunday 5 July Monday 6 July Tuesday 7 July Wednesday 8 July Thursday 9 July Friday 10 July Saturday 11 July Sunday 12 July Monday 13 July Tuesday 14 July Wednesday 15 July Thursday 16 July Friday 17 July Saturday 18 July Sunday 19 July Monday 20 July Tuesday 21 July Wednesday 22 July Thursday 23 July Friday 24 July Saturday 25 July Sunday 26 July Monday 27 July Tuesday 28 July Wednesday 29 July Thursday 30 July

Find Anthony Braxton discography, albums and singles on AllMusic AllMusic. New Releases. Featured New Releases Album Label AllMusic Rating User Ratings ; Six Monk's Compositions () Black Saint Voigt Kol Nidre: Soundaspects ().

8 Replies to “Ask Me Now - Anthony Braxton - Six Monks Compositions (1987) (Vinyl, LP, Album)”

  1. Anthony Braxton is best-known for his unique and knotty compositions, but he sometimes interprets classic jazz songs. "Six Monk's Compositions ()" does just as its title implies. The six songs aren't the most often-played Monk songs, but you can find examples of other artists doing each of the six/5(8).
  2. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of Six Monk's Compositions () on Discogs. Label: Black Saint - BS AB • Format: Vinyl LP, Album • Country: Italy • Genre: Jazz • Style: Contemporary Jazz/5(3).
  3. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of Six Monk's Compositions () on Discogs. Label: Black Saint - • Format: Vinyl LP, Album • Country: Italy • Genre: Jazz • Style: Contemporary Jazz/5(15).
  4. The band Anthony Braxton assembled for this unique exploration of the compositions of Thelonious Monk is one of the wonders of the composer's retinue. Braxton, pianist Mal Waldron, bassist Buell Neidlinger, and drummer Bill Osborne use six Monk tunes and go hunting for harmonic invention; in order, they are "Brilliant Corners," "Reflections," "Played Twice," "Four in One," "Ask Me Now," and 9/
  5. Anthony Braxton, Anthony Braxton, Mal Waldron, Buel Neidlinger - Six Monk Compositions () - scorenabmespocapp.reidrexlicilimalindisctextdersticon.co Music.
  6. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the CD release of Six Monk's Compositions () on Discogs.
  7. Discover releases, reviews, credits, songs, and more about Anthony Braxton - Six Monk's Compositions at Discogs. Complete your Anthony Braxton collection/5(30).
  8. Nov 06,  · Six Monk’s Compositions () has been called a good starting point for understanding the strengths of multi-reedist/composer Anthony Braxton as an improvise. Recorded in and released in via the Italian Black Saint label, this is .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *