The First Noel - Mitch Miller & The Gang* - Christmas Sing-Along With Mitch (Vinyl, LP, Album)

When Ahmet Ertegun of Atlantic Records promised her artistic freedom to create records outside the pop mainstream in a more rhythm-and-blues-driven direction, she left Columbia after five years.

Miller disapproved of rock 'n' roll [8] —one of his contemporaries described his denunciation of it as "The Gettysburg Address of Music"—and passed not only on Elvis Presley and Buddy Holly , who became stars on RCA and Coral respectively, but on The Beatles , too, creating a fortune in revenue for rival Capitol. Previously, Miller had offered Presley a contract, but balked at the amount Presley's manager, Colonel Tom Parker , was asking.

According to former Newsweek music critic Karen Schoemer, Miller's refusal to record in the genre was also owed to his fear that the label, and its corporate parent CBS , would be implicated in the scandal surrounding payola if he did so, remarking:.

I knew what was going on—everybody in the business knew what was going on. You had to pay to play. In defense of his anti-rock stance, he once told NME in January "Rock 'n' roll is musical baby food: it is the worship of mediocrity, brought about by a passion for conformity.

Producer Bob Stanley had found the group during a series of early "Mexican civil rights concerts" in East Los Angeles. Although Mitch had once referred to the group as just "four arrogant little bastards," Miller softened his position regarding them when Paley's estimate of their record sales in Mexico proved to be highly accurate. It was because of his recommendation and a letter of reference to William Schuman that Aken's parents sent the young musician and future Hall of Fame guitarist to the Juilliard School of Music.

Despite his distaste for rock 'n' roll, Miller emphasized emotional expression over vocal perfection [8] and often produced records for Columbia artists that were rockish in nature. As a record producer, Miller gained a reputation for both innovation and gimmickry. Miller exemplified the worst in American pop. At the same time, Friedwald acknowledges Miller's great influence on later popular music production:. Miller established the primacy of the producer, proving that even more than the artist, the accompaniment , or the material, it was the responsibility of the man in the recording booth whether a record flew or flopped.

Miller also conceived the idea of the pop record "sound" per se: not so much an arrangement or a tune, but an aural texture usually replete with extramusical gimmicks that could be created in the studio and then replicated in live performance, instead of the other way around. Miller was hardly a rock 'n' roller, yet without these ideas there could never have been rock 'n' roll. The similarities between it and, say, " Leader of the Pack ", need hardly be outlined here.

While some of Columbia's performers, including Harry James , [14] Frank Sinatra , and Rosemary Clooney , [15] resented Miller's methods, the label maintained a high hit-to-release ratio during the s. Sinatra particularly blamed his temporary fall from popularity while at Columbia on Miller; the crooner felt that he was forced by Miller to record material like "Mama Will Bark" and "The Hucklebuck".

He also recorded a string of successful albums and singles, featuring a male chorale and his own arrangements, under the name "Mitch Miller and the Gang" beginning in In , Miller's orchestra and chorus recorded " U. He and his orchestra also recorded children's music for the Golden Records label. A choral group called The Sandpiper Singers provided the vocals for these recordings, including an album of Mother Goose nursery rhymes. In , Miller also provided two choral tracks set to Dimitri Tiomkin 's title music on the soundtrack to The Guns of Navarone.

Though the film was a box-office bomb, paradoxically the song remained popular for years. We Three Kings of Orient Are 5. It Came upon the Midnight Clear 6. Silent Night, Holy Night 7. Deck the Hall with Boughs of Holly 8. God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen 9. The Coventry Carol Away in a Manger Luther's Carol O Little Town of Bethlehem Monday 30 March Tuesday 31 March Wednesday 1 April Thursday 2 April Friday 3 April Saturday 4 April Sunday 5 April Monday 6 April Tuesday 7 April Wednesday 8 April Thursday 9 April Friday 10 April Saturday 11 April Sunday 12 April Monday 13 April Tuesday 14 April Wednesday 15 April Friday 17 April Saturday 18 April Sunday 19 April Monday 20 April Tuesday 21 April Wednesday 22 April Thursday 23 April Friday 24 April Saturday 25 April Sunday 26 April Monday 27 April Tuesday 28 April Wednesday 29 April Thursday 30 April Friday 1 May Saturday 2 May Sunday 3 May Monday 4 May Tuesday 5 May Wednesday 6 May Thursday 7 May Friday 8 May Saturday 9 May Sunday 10 May Monday 11 May Tuesday 12 May Wednesday 13 May Thursday 14 May Friday 15 May Saturday 16 May Sunday 17 May Monday 18 May Tuesday 19 May Wednesday 20 May Thursday 21 May Friday 22 May Drinking Hanging Out In Love.

Introspection Late Night Partying. Rainy Day Relaxation Road Trip. Romantic Evening Sex All Themes. Features Interviews Lists. Streams Videos All Posts. Styles Holidays. Track Listing.

Joy to the World. What Child Is This. William Chatterton Dix. We Three Kings of Orient Are.

Folk: Click on the Folk artist of your choice to Buy New, Rare, Collectible, Used and Hard to Find CDs, CD Albums, Vinyl Albums, Vinyl records, Rare CD Sigles, Picture Discs, Rare Vinyl, 12" singles, 10" singles, 7" singles, Limited Editions, Promos, Promotional items, Imports and Music Memorabilia from the s, s, s, s and s along with Full Discography's.

8 Replies to “The First Noel - Mitch Miller & The Gang* - Christmas Sing-Along With Mitch (Vinyl, LP, Album)”

  1. Dec 18,  · View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Gatefold Vinyl release of Christmas Sing-Along With Mitch on Discogs. Label: Columbia - CL • Format: Vinyl LP, Album, Mono Gatefold • Country: US • Genre: Jazz, Classical, Folk, World, & Country • Style: Easy Listening/5(15).
  2. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of Christmas Sing-Along With Mitch on Discogs.3/5(1).
  3. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of Christmas Sing-Along With Mitch on Discogs. Label: Philips - BBL ,Philips - BL • Format: Vinyl LP, Album, Mono • Country: UK • Genre: Jazz, Classical, Folk, World, & Country • Style: Easy Listening.
  4. Finally, someone has released a new cd version of "Christmas Sing-Along With Mitch" that includes ALL of the songs from the original record album. For some reason, dating back in the s or so, Columbia eliminated the final three songs from their cassette and cd releases/5(95).
  5. Finally, someone has released a new cd version of "Christmas Sing-Along With Mitch" that includes ALL of the songs from the original record album. For some reason, dating back in the s or so, Columbia eliminated the final three songs from their cassette and cd releases/5().
  6. referencing Christmas Sing-Along With Mitch, LP, Album, Mono, Gat, CL Some pressings of this mono LP exist using injection-mold polystyrene, vs. standard vinyl. Reply Notify me Helpful.
  7. This is my favorite Christmas album of all time, period. Finally, someone has released a new cd version of "Christmas Sing-Along With Mitch" that includes ALL of the songs from the original record album. For some reason, dating back in the s or so, Columbia eliminated the final three songs from their cassette and cd releases/5().
  8. Label: Columbia Limited Edition - LE • Format: Vinyl LP, Album, Mono, Reissue • Country: US • Genre: Jazz, Classical, Folk, World, & Country • Style: Easy Listening Mitch Miller And The Gang - Christmas Sing-Along With Mitch (Vinyl) | Discogs5/5(1).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *