Too Close - Various - 100 One Hit Wonders (CD)

Friday 3 July Saturday 4 July Sunday 5 July Monday 6 July Tuesday 7 July Wednesday 8 July Thursday 9 July Friday 10 July Saturday 11 July Sunday 12 July Monday 13 July Tuesday 14 July Wednesday 15 July Thursday 16 July Friday 17 July Saturday 18 July Sunday 19 July Monday 20 July Tuesday 21 July Wednesday 22 July Thursday 23 July Friday 24 July Saturday 25 July Sunday 26 July Monday 27 July Tuesday 28 July Wednesday 29 July Thursday 30 July Friday 31 July Saturday 1 August Sunday 2 August Monday 3 August Tuesday 4 August Wednesday 5 August Thursday 6 August Friday 7 August Saturday 8 August Sunday 9 August Monday 10 August Tuesday 11 August Wednesday 12 August Thursday 13 August All Listings.

Buy It Now. Item Location. Canada Only. North America. Delivery Options. Free International Shipping. Free In-store Pickup. Free Local Pickup. Show only. Free Returns. Returns Accepted. Log in. Sign up. My Account. My Channels. Sign Up Already signed up? Various Artists: One-Hit Wonders. Blend Share.

Please rate song:. Ban artist Ban song. The result of that trip—which included touristy visits to Graceland, and eating ribs at Rendezvous—was " Walking in Memphis ," Cohn's first and only hit to ever make it into the top 20 on the Billboard Hot chart. At least he'll always have Memphis. The track, though a huge success, quickly proclaimed the Scottish duo who sang it, The Proclaimers, as one-hit wonders.

Though the band saw further success in Europe, they were never able to develop much of a devout following in America. You might not recognize this once-popular song by its title, nor would you likely know the band who sings it. However, you'd only have to hear the first few seconds of this thumping worldbeat rock hit before you instantly started singing along.

Good luck trying to keep up when lead singer Michael Glabicki talk-sings "youknowwhattheysayabouttheyoung," though. It's featured in tons of movies—from Ice Age and Matilda —and, yes, it's basically the theme song for Enterprise Rent-a-Car.

It's also the only hit Rusted Root has to their name. If you grew up in New Zealand, then it's probably makin' you crazy to think of the band OMC as a one-hit wonder. If you grew up anywhere else in the world, however, then the only song of theirs that you probably know is " How Bizarre ," the hit single from the Kiwi band's eponymous debut album. Still, we hope Sister Zina and Brother Pele are doing well.

And given that the song is the only one produced by the band to have ever found mainstream success, it's little surprise that the band members have grown more and more sick of it over the years.

It's always a massive singalong and there's nothing better than that. What exactly is "tubthumping"? Well, as former Chumbawamba lead singer Danbert Nobacon explained to the AV Club in , it's "someone getting up on a soapbox, before electricity, and just saying whatever they wanted to say.

So, what's it doing on this list of the best one-hit wonders, you ask? Well, it is the true definition of the term: It's a massive earworm the world knew, but few could tell you the name of the band who sings, even it if their life depended on it.

The orchestral notes that kick off " Bitter Sweet Symphony " are likely ingrained in your brain whether you realize it or not. This track, from Britpop group The Verve, defined the late '90s. And if you're a true '90s kid, then you definitely associate this one-hit wonder with the movie soundtrack for Cruel Intentions.

Sorry, Kathryn. We have to hope that late '90s one-hit wonder Natalie Imbruglia is not cold, ashamed, nor lying naked on the floor. The Aussie singer's cover of Ednaswap's early s track " Torn " took the world by storm toward the end of the decade. But the success of "Torn" never turned into something real for Imbruglia, who failed to recreate the magic of her breakout hit. She's reportedly working on a new album though with none other than Albert Hammond, Jr.

Ah, the tangled webs these one-hit wonders weave! Though " Closing Time " is an iconic '90s hit, there are few people out there who can actually identify it solely by its title or the band who sings it, Semisonic. It's such a phenomenon, in fact, that in the rom-com Friends with Benefits , Mila Kunis' and Justin Timberlake's character have a running joke about the song being sung by Third Eye Blind.

At the end of the movie, Timberlake surprises Kunis with a flash mob dancing to the song and he screams, "It's 'Closing Time' by the band Semisonic. It's not Third Eye Blind, can you believe that?!

Tal Bachman's " She's So High " was the song that every boy going through puberty used to try to woo their high school crush in the late '90s. After all, what higher compliment was there than being compared to Cleopatra , Joan of Arc , and Aphrodite?

Bachman may have helped a few pre-teens ask dates to homecoming, but he never had another hit again. Sonique may have been huge in the U. Can you imagine if you scrolled through a list of the Best One-Hit Wonder Songs and found Beck sitting at the top spot?

Hey, leave our pets out of this. So, that being said, we all know what the real definition of a one-hit wonder is, right? Did we still have to make some gut calls? The Verve? Okay, so we pay some attention to the UK charts.

A one-hit wonder is a singer/group that has only experienced real mainstream success with one hit song. Often, people will only remember the name of the song, and not the singer/group behind it. We've rounded up the best one-hit wonders of the past 60 years, including classics like .

8 Replies to “Too Close - Various - 100 One Hit Wonders (CD)”

  1. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the CD release of One Hit Wonders on Discogs. Label: Cloud 9 (2) - CLDM • Format: 5x, CD Compilation • Country: Netherlands • Genre: Jazz, Funk / Soul, Pop •.
  2. one hit wonders - intended for the German market, but don't worry, its English singing, English tracklists and all original single releases, not retakes or covers, an excellent selection too:) the Zager and Evans is also the right version, or at least the one i'm familiar with as a UK single release: /5(40).
  3. This CD set touts its one-hit wonders, making a point of telling you they're the original artists. Yes, they are original artists, but they are NOT original recordings. Some of them come fairly close to the originals, while others sound more like something you might hear if the artist were doing a concert tour/5(80).
  4. The top One Hit Wonders compiled by record sales, radio airplay and over 1, radio station listener’s surveys of all known Rock, Pop, AC and Top 40 genres from to present.
  5. Find album reviews, stream songs, credits and award information for The Ultimate One-Hit Wonders Collection - Various Artists on AllMusic - - Time Life Music's Ultimate One-Hit Wonders 7/
  6. Find album reviews, stream songs, credits and award information for One Hit Wonders & Hard to Find Classics - Various Artists on AllMusic -
  7. Various ‎– One-Hit Wonders - Original Hard 2 Get Hits Label: Disky ‎– DB , Disky ‎– BX , Disky ‎– BX , Disky ‎– BX , Disky ‎– BX , Disky ‎– BX , Disky ‎– BX , Disky ‎– BX , Disky ‎– BX
  8. The Top One-Hit Wonders This list was compiled by DeeJay Rich Appel as a. Labor Day Weekend Countdown, By Rich's kind permission, we are reprinting the results of his research here. Rankings were compiled as follows: To qualify, an artist had to have - or sing on - just one national Top 40 Hit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *